NSA at the 2017 ASA

The Nigerian Studies Association is sponsoring a roundtable on Biafra at the 60th Annual Meeting of the African Studies Association in Washington DC!

One Pound Note, Biafra

VI-A-3 Roundtable: Remembering the Nigerian Civil War @ 50: Resilience Amidst Adversity. Thursday, 11/17/2017 – 10:30 AM.

Chair: Martin-Edward Ohajunwa, Catholic Theological Union, Chicago
Sussie Okoro, Howard University
Oghenetoja Okoh, University of Akron
Samuel Fury Childs Daly, Duke University
Martin-Edward Ohajunwa, Catholic Theological Union, Chicago
Lawrence Okwuosa, University of Nigeria

Recent Publications (December 2016)

Recent Publication


Nigeria, Africa, and the United States: Challenges of Governance, Development and Security, Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Publishing and Lexington Books, 2016


NSA@ ASA 2016


Please plan to join the Nigerian Studies Association (NSA)

@ the 59th Annual Conference of the African Studies Association

Washington, DC December 1 – 3, 2016

Featured NSA Events (Friday, December 2, 2016)

NSA Sponsored Roundtable I                           

Friday, December 2, 2016                                                    8:30am

“The Glocalization of Nigeria Pop Culture”                  V-L-2

Chair:                  Abosede George, Bernard University, New York

Panelists:           Rita Offiaeli, University of Connecticut

Michael Aondo-Verr Kombol, Benue State Univ., Nigeria

Ijeoma Okoronkwo, Independent Scholar

Patience Bentu, Swansea University, United Kingdom

Safiya Akau, Independent Scholar


NSA Sponsored Roundtable II                         

Friday, December 2, 2016                                                                 2:00pm

“Leadership and War against Corruption in Nigeria”           VII-H-6

Chair:                  Olayiwola Abegunrin, University of Maryland

Panelists:           Sabella Abidde, Alabama State University

Matthew T. Page, US Department of State

Sulayman Nyang, Howard University

Debra LaPrevotte, Independent Scholar


ASA Business Meeting                                                    9:30pm            (Wilson B)

Kindly check final ASA Conference Program for locations!

Recent Publications


Olayiwola Abegunrin and Sabella O. Abidde, editors, Pan-Africanism in Modern Times: Challenges, Concerns, and Constraints. Lexington Books, Lanham, MD: 2016               https://rowman.com/ISBN/9781498535090/Pan-Africanism-in-Modern-Times-Challenges-Concerns-and-Constraints#



Picture of Expressions of Indigenous and Local Knowledge in Africa and its Diaspora
Karim Traore, Mobolanle Sotunsa, Akinloye Ojo, editors, Expressions of Indigenous and Local Knowledge in Africa and its Diaspora. Cambridge Scholars Publishing, Newcastle, UK: 2016







African Governance and Development Series (New CFPs)



Olayiwola Abegunrin, Series Editor

African Governance and Development Series identifies and elaborate on the strategic place of Governance and development within the African studies. Reflecting the fact that life in Africa continues to change; particularly in political, development, and socio-economic arenas; this series explores issues focusing on the ongoing mobilization for good governance and the search for sustainable and economic development. The African Governance and Development Series address gaps and larger needs in the developing scholarship on Africa and the African Diaspora. This series provides scholarly monographs and edited collections in the humanities, social science, and social scientific traditions. Contributors are encouraged to submit book length manuscripts that encompass, besides the above named topics, those focusing on: Africa’s political economy and economic development, Africa’s place in world trade development, democratization of African countries, the inclusion and representation of ethnic minorities, and the role of gender in Africa’s development. Works can be focused on a single African country, a region of African countries, or the African continent’s place as a global player.

Interested authors can send their book proposals to:
Prof. Olayiwola Abegunrin
Lexington Books
African Governance and Development, Series Editor
OR to:
Kathryn Tafelski, Assistant Editor
Political Science & African Studies
Lexington Books
4501 Forbes Boulevard,  Suite 200
Lanham, MD. 20706
Phone: 301459-3366 ext. 5303
Fax:     301-459-5749
Email: ktafelski@rowman.com

NSA in San Diego


@ 58th ASA Conference


Please plan to join the Nigerian Studies Association (NSA) at the

58th Annual Conference of the African Studies Association

San Diego, California

November 19 – 22, 2015


Featured NSA events

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 19                                   2:00- 3:45PM

NSA SPONSORED ROUNDTABLE                          Session III-J-4

“Politics in Nigeria, Reflections of 2015 Elections”

 Chair:         Patience Bentu

University of Wales System- Swansea University


  • Matthew T. Page

Government of the United States of America-Dept. of State,

  • Olayiwola Abegunrin

Howard University, Washington, DC

  • Patience Bentu

University of Wales System- Swansea University


FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 20                                       7:30 – 8:30PM



Kindly check final ASA Conference Program for locations!

New Book: The Political Philosophy of Chief Obafemi Awolowo!

The Political Philosophy of Chief Obafemi Awolowo by Professor Olayiwola Abegunrin, is out now and is available at the website  of the publisher at: www.lexingtonbooks.com or at Amazon.com: Online Shopping for Electronics, Apparel, Computers, Books, DVDs & more

Olayiwola Abegunrin



NSA BOOK AWARD- Call for Submissions

The Nigerian Studies Association (NSA) invites individuals and publishers to nominate/or submit books (titles) for the NSA book award prize.

(1) The NSA book award will be presented to the author of the most important scholarly book/work on Nigeria published in English language during the preceding year.
(2) The subject matter must significantly deal with Nigeria and /or related areas and must be original and non-fiction scholarly works.
(3) The book must be authored books or co-authored, but not edited books.
(4) The author or the publisher should send three copies of the book to the Chair of the NSA Book Award Committee.
(5) To be considered the books must be received by the award committee latest by July 31 of every year.
(6) The winner of the Book Award Prize is announced each year at the NSA Annual Meeting, where he/she receives A Certificate. And the Name of the winner will be listed on the NSA Website.

For the individual submitting book/books should include their address, email address, telephone, and fax to Chair NSA Book Award Committee

For the publisher nominating a publication should send a letter indicating the publisher, address, email address, telephone, fax and the title of the nominated publication/publications to the Chair NSA Book Award Committee at this address:

Olayiwola Abegunrin,
7427 Jefferson Street
Hyattsville, MD. 20784